Better Mortgage · Lender
Better Mortgage
Review published mortgage options and requirements, then request a personalized quote from the lender.
Availability: The lender publishes licensing in the 50 states and District of Columbia and says loans are unavailable in Puerto Rico or outside the United States. Products are not available in all states; confirm availability for the selected program. The token-backed program is limited to select jurisdictions and requires a designated application path. Coinbase promotional credit is not available for applications submitted directly through Better.com. The official Get pre-approved destination returned a CloudFront request-blocked error during browser verification on 25 October 2026; destination functionality could not be confirmed.
At a glance
- Property use
- Primary residence
- Credit requirement
- 580
Still to confirm: Borrower type, Reserves.
Our take: Pros & Cons
What we like
- Better publishes conventional fixed-rate and adjustable-rate loans, jumbo, FHA purchase and VA options.
- The mortgage process is online, with account access to track progress and lock a rate.
- Published One Day Mortgage promotion terms include permanent residents and certain non-permanent residents, subject to the offer’s visa, documentation and underwriting conditions.
What to consider
- Minimum scores and down payments vary by program. The rate page’s 760 score, 20% down payment and DTI below 35% are pricing assumptions, not universal eligibility requirements.
- General mortgage-specific ITIN, foreign-credit, no-credit-history and foreign-income acceptance are unconfirmed. Limited residency terms from promotions do not apply to every program.
- The FHA eligibility FAQ limits loans to 30-year purchases of primary residences, while the refinance page displays an FHA example; confirm current availability before relying on FHA refinance pricing.
AI-generated lender-level assessment based on published information. Not a verified assessment of FHA loans; confirm program-specific conditions below.
Additional lender considerations
- Qualified VA borrowers may obtain no-down-payment financing without private mortgage insurance.
- Adjustable-rate interest rates and payments may change after the initial fixed period.
- The token-backed program involves a separate down-payment loan, a second property lien and restricted custody of pledged assets. Default can lead to liquidation and loss of pledged assets.
- Advertised rates and costs are conditional, may change, and do not guarantee approval. Request a written Loan Estimate.
Newcomer requirements
FHA loans
Fit not assessed · Check fit
Verified published requirements for this program. Rate-example assumptions are separate and do not establish eligibility or approval.
- Minimum credit score
- 580
- Minimum down payment
- To qualify, borrowers must have a credit score of at least 580 and be able to make a minimum down payment of 3.5%. If there is a non-occupying co-applicant/co-borrower, the minimum down payment is 25%.
- Property restrictions
- All FHA loans must be used to fund the purchase of a one or two-to-four unit primary residence, meaning no secondary or rental/investment properties are eligible.
- Occupancy
- Primary residence
View full lender requirements
- Minimum credit score
- 580
- Minimum down payment
- To qualify, borrowers must have a credit score of at least 580 and be able to make a minimum down payment of 3.5%. If there is a non-occupying co-applicant/co-borrower, the minimum down payment is 25%.
- Property restrictions
- All FHA loans must be used to fund the purchase of a one or two-to-four unit primary residence, meaning no secondary or rental/investment properties are eligible.
- Occupancy
- Primary residence
- Other conditions
- FHA loans at Better Mortgage are only available to customers trying to purchase (not refinance) a home with a 30-year term. All FHA loans must be used to fund the purchase of a one or two-to-four unit primary residence, meaning no secondary or rental/investment properties are eligible. To qualify, borrowers must have a credit score of at least 580 and be able to make a minimum down payment of 3.5%. If there is a non-occupying co-applicant/co-borrower, the minimum down payment is 25%. Better Mortgage customers can only have one FHA loan product at a time, and all FHA loans require both upfront and monthly mortgage insurance payments. To find out how much you pre-qualify for, get started here. Debt-to-income (DTI) ratios are a measurement of monthly debt compared to monthly income. This ratio gives lenders an understanding of other major financial obligations in a borrower’s life, and is used to determine how much a borrower can afford in a monthly mortgage payment compared to other existing debts. Borrowers below 50% DTI can qualify for an FHA loan at Better Mortgage. What is a Good Debt-to-Income Ratio for an FHA Loan? The maximum DTI ratio allowed for an FHA loan varies by lender and is typically between 43% to 50%. At Better Mortgage, there are circumstances where up to 57% is allowed. This means that no more than 57% of your gross monthly income should be allocated to your total monthly debt payments, including your potential new mortgage. Lenders may allow for a DTI ratio over 43% in certain circumstances when there are strong compensating factors present. These could include a larger down payment, substantial cash reserves, or a history of making similar housing payments with no issues. That said, a DTI ratio below 43% for an FHA loan is generally considered sufficient and can increase your chances of loan approval. A lower DTI ratio shows lenders that you have a good balance between your debt and income, suggesting that adding a mortgage payment to your financial obligations would be manageable.
Questions to confirm with the lender (12)
These requirements have not been verified for this program:
- SSN
- ITIN
- U.S. credit history
- Foreign credit history
- No credit history
- Residency / visa
- Income documentation
- Employment documentation
- Foreign income
- Foreign assets
- Reserves
- State restrictions
Requirements last reviewed: Oct 25, 2026 · Official requirements source
Rates and costs
FHA loans
Rates are available on request
No reviewed advertised rate example is linked to this program.
How to apply
FHA loans
Document requirements are not confirmed. Ask the lender for its program-specific checklist.
- Confirm the program's identity, residency, credit and property requirements with the lender.
- Use the official application channel to request pricing for your actual scenario.
- Review the lender's written Loan Estimate, including costs and cash to close.
Published eligibility and availability do not guarantee approval. Confirm membership, relationship, property and occupancy conditions with the lender.
Sources and methodology
About this lender
Online purchase and refinance mortgages with conventional fixed and adjustable rates, jumbo, FHA purchase and VA options. Specialized token-backed and One Day Mortgage offers have separate eligibility and program conditions.
Legal lender: Better Mortgage Corporation
Lending channel: Direct lending
Provider type: Mortgage company
Lending channels: Direct lending. Origination status: Not stated.
NMLS identifier: 330511
Published service states: AL,AK,AZ,AR,CA,CO,CT,DE,DC,FL,GA,HI,ID,IL,IN,IA,KS,KY,LA,ME,MD,MA,MI,MN,MS,MO,MT,NE,NV,NH,NJ,NM,NY,NC,ND,OH,OK,OR,PA,RI,SC,SD,TN,TX,UT,VT,VA,WA,WV,WI,WY
More lender directory information
Parent: Better Home & Finance Holding Company. Former names: Not stated.
Direct application information ↗
The lender publishes licensing in the 50 states and District of Columbia and says loans are unavailable in Puerto Rico or outside the United States. Products are not available in all states; confirm availability for the selected program. The token-backed program is limited to select jurisdictions and requires a designated application path. Coinbase promotional credit is not available for applications submitted directly through Better.com. The official Get pre-approved destination returned a CloudFront request-blocked error during browser verification on 25 October 2026; destination functionality could not be confirmed.
Directory verified: 2026-10-25 UTC · Official directory source ↗
Official mortgage terms · Profile reviewed: Oct 25, 2026
- Official lender source · Last checked Oct 25, 2026
What do APR, points, LTV and reserves mean?
- APR
- An annualized borrowing-cost measure that includes interest and certain loan charges. Read it alongside the interest rate and fees.
- Discount points
- An upfront charge expressed as a percentage of the loan amount. Compare the quoted interest rate and the points together.
- LTV
- Loan-to-value: the loan amount relative to the property's value.
- Reserves
- Assets the lender may require you to retain after closing. Requirements differ by program.
